Close this search box.

What Is Mandatory Insurance Coverage In Oklahoma?

Auto insurance may seem like a hassle, but Oklahoma and most other states make it mandatory to carry liability insurance coverage. Although the amounts and types of mandatory coverage vary from state to state, car insurance laws mostly have the same fundamental purpose — to protect people from the potentially devastating consequences of a car accident.

Aside from being compulsory in Oklahoma, insurance is also a preemptive measure used to address property damages, injuries, and other losses. Auto insurance often saves money and even lives in some situations. If you are a policyholder, you should keep your policy current by paying your monthly premiums.

Auto Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma

Oklahoma is an at-fault state when it comes to auto insurance. This means the at-fault driver’s insurance company is liable for damages stemming from an auto accident. Designed to reduce the cost of insurance premiums, a state’s at-fault policy ensures the responsible party will incur the costs–rather than the victim or the victim’s insurer.

Likewise, Oklahoma is a comparative negligence state, meaning that the responsible party will only be liable to the extent their conduct caused the injury. For example, if a driver rear-ended another person, but that person was negligently or recklessly driving, both parties may share portions of the liability.

Even still, Oklahomans can and should still seek compensation from another driver for injuries such as dismemberment, death, or significant property damages, among other things.

Oklahoma requires liability insurance for all motorists that covers bodily injuries and property damage caused by an at-fault driver. This kind of insurance policy provides compensation for medical bills, lost wages due to injury, funeral expenses, and pain and suffering. Liability insurance does not cover a driver’s own injuries or property damage.

In Oklahoma, you must be able to provide proof of liability insurance when registering a vehicle, after an accident, and after being pulled over by police. Acceptable proof of insurance can come in a few different forms. Most drivers show proof with a card provided by their insurer. Oklahoma’s Department of Public Safety also maintains an online database of insured drivers. Drivers can also take out an authorized surety bond or leave a deposit with the Department of Public Safety.

Your license will be revoked if you decide to forgo liability coverage and get caught. You could also face the seizure of your license plate, a fine of up to $250, and a prison sentence of up to 30 days. You must get insurance and pay a reinstatement fee to regain your license.

What Are Oklahoma’s State-Mandated Car Insurance Limits?

Most states require a certain liability coverage level established by setting minimum compensation limits. So, what is mandatory insurance coverage in Oklahoma? State law has established the following minimum limits:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person. A driver’s policy must be able to pay out at least $25,000 in damages to a single person injured in an accident that they are found to have caused.
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident. A driver’s policy must be able to pay out at least $50,000 in compensation for all injuries caused by a single accident that they are found to have caused.
  • $25,000 in property damage per accident. A driver’s policy must be able to pay out at least $25,000 in compensation for all property damage caused by a single accident that they are found to have caused.

Going Beyond Oklahoma’s Mandatory Insurance Coverage

When you follow Oklahoma’s mandatory insurance coverage, you’re both legally allowed to drive and protected from a certain level of financial risk. However, most insurance experts recommend picking up coverage beyond the mandatory state minimum. Most insurance companies offer a range of auto insurance policies, and you may want to consider the following policies based on your financial situation and transportation needs.

  • Collision. Required by most auto lenders, collision coverage protects your vehicle when damaged by hitting another vehicle or a stationary object.
  • Comprehensive. This coverage protects your vehicle in situations involving non-collision damages, such as theft or vandalism.
  • Loan or lease payoff. Also called gap coverage, this policy protects people who are loaning or leasing a vehicle when the vehicle has been totaled. This policy covers the difference between the car’s actual value, including depreciation, and the balance of what’s owed.
  • Medical payments. Also referred to as Medpay, this coverage can be used to pay for medical or funeral costs of the driver and those in their vehicle at the time of an accident, regardless of whether the driver was at fault.
  • Rental car reimbursement. This policy is used to pay for a rental car when the policyholder’s car is undergoing repairs.
  • Roadside assistance. This coverage can be used to pay for roadside repairs and towing fees.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist. Unfortunately, a significant number of drivers on the road on any given day do not meet the mandatory insurance coverage for Oklahoma. This coverage protects a driver if they get into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist. Depending on the policy, it can be used to pay for medical bills and property damage.

There are many different types of auto insurance policies out there, and researching your options is a good idea if you have a unique transportation situation.

We Can Explain What Mandatory Insurance Coverage in Oklahoma Means for Your Accident

If you’ve recently been in an accident in Oklahoma or know someone who has, it’s a good idea to get a sense of the state’s mandatory insurance coverage. Nix Patterson has boots on the ground in Oklahoma, and we’re well-versed in the state’s insurance laws.

Get in touch with Nix Patterson today to discuss your car insurance case. Our personal injury attorneys work on a contingency fee basis, meaning you don’t pay any upfront fees or costs. Get started now to find out how we can help.


Nix Patterson only works on a contingency fee basis. Our clients pay us nothing unless we win. Schedule a free consultation today. Call 512.328.5333 or complete the form below. 

PA Contact Form

"*" indicates required fields


Related Pages

Nix patterson, LLP
$ 0 Billion
Recovered in Verdicts and Settlements